Where your money goes
In this section: Public services

Search and rescue: what the taxpayer funds and what charities do

Last updated . Figures refresh every night. How each figure is worked out.

£451m was spent on HM Coastguard in HM Coastguard, United Kingdom in 2025-26, £6.49 per resident. That is +0.7% on a year earlier after inflation (+4.2% in cash). In 2025-26 prices it has gone from £448m in 2024-25 to £451m. The RNLI, which runs most lifeboats, had £251.3m of income in its latest accounts, 60% of it from legacies, and reported £4.4m of government money. The 21 air ambulance charities had £305.2m between them.

Figure as of 15 July 2026. Source: Maritime and Coastguard Agency.

Key figures

  • £451mSpent in 2025-26, cash +4.2% on a year earlier As of 15 July 2026
  • +0.7%Real-terms change, 2025-26 on a year earlier £451m in 2025-26 prices As of 15 July 2026
  • £6.49Per resident, 2025-26 As of 15 July 2026
  • £251.3mRNLI income, year to Dec 2024
  • £305.2mIncome of 21 air ambulance charities, latest accounts

Sources: Maritime and Coastguard Agency, Charity Commission for England and Wales.

What is the short version?

  • Taxpayer-funded: HM Coastguard, including the search and rescue helicopters flown under contract.
  • Charity-funded: the RNLI and independent lifeboats, the air ambulances and mountain, lowland and cave rescue, from donations, legacies, lotteries and shops.
  • Every figure is from filed accounts, with the date it was checked; years differ between charities.

Over the longest run published: cash, real terms and per head

HM Coastguard, United Kingdom: spending in cash and in 2025-26 prices, £ million

Real terms use HM Treasury’s GDP deflator, 2025-26 prices. Breaks in the series: 2024-25: The second-generation search and rescue aviation contract was phased in from October 2024.

The numbers behind this chart
HM Coastguard, United Kingdom: spending in cash and in 2025-26 prices, £ million (£ million)
YearReal terms (2025-26 prices)Cash
2024-25
Details for 2024-25
£448.0m£433.1m
Cash
£433.1m
2025-26
Details for 2025-26
£451.1m£451.1m
Cash
£451.1m

Figure as of 15 July 2026. Source: Maritime and Coastguard Agency.

HM Coastguard, United Kingdom: spending per resident, 2025-26 prices

Per resident divides by ONS mid-year population estimates.

The numbers behind this chart
HM Coastguard, United Kingdom: spending per resident, 2025-26 prices (£ per resident)
YearPer resident, 2025-26 pricesPer resident, cash
2024-25
Details for 2024-25
£6£6
Per resident, cash
£6
2025-26
Details for 2025-26
£6£6
Per resident, cash
£6

Figure as of 15 July 2026. Source: Maritime and Coastguard Agency.

Source: Maritime and Coastguard Agency, Maritime and Coastguard Agency annual report and accounts 2025 to 2026, published 15 July 2026.

Where the money goes, level by level

  1. UK total (this level)
  2. Nation not published
  3. Department or service body
  4. Local body not published
  5. Spending category
  6. Line or transaction not published

HM Coastguard, United Kingdom

The taxpayer-funded part of search and rescue: the Maritime and Coastguard Agency’s net operating spending, which also covers ship safety and other work.

£451m in 2025-26 (cash); £451m in 2025-26 prices; £6.49 per resident; +4.2% on a year earlier in cash, +0.7% in real terms.

HM Coastguard, United Kingdom: by department or service body, 2025-26
Department or service bodyCash, 2025-26Real terms (2025-26 prices)Per residentReal change on a year earlierSourceBelow this
Maritime and Coastguard Agency
Details for Maritime and Coastguard Agency
£451m£451m£6.49+0.7%Maritime and Coastguard AgencyBroken down below
Real terms (2025-26 prices)
£451m
Per resident
£6.49
Real change on a year earlier
+0.7%
Below this
Broken down below

Maritime and Coastguard Agency

£451m in 2025-26 (cash); £451m in 2025-26 prices; £6.49 per resident; +4.2% on a year earlier in cash, +0.7% in real terms.

Maritime and Coastguard Agency: by spending category, 2025-26
Spending categoryCash, 2025-26Real terms (2025-26 prices)Per residentReal change on a year earlierSourceBelow this
Coastguard operations, ship safety and the rest of the agency
Details for Coastguard operations, ship safety and the rest of the agency
£254m£254m£3.65+7.2%Maritime and Coastguard AgencyLine or transaction not published: The agency’s accounts do not split the rest of its spending between coastguard operations and its other work.
Real terms (2025-26 prices)
£254m
Per resident
£3.65
Real change on a year earlier
+7.2%
Below this
Line or transaction not published: The agency’s accounts do not split the rest of its spending between coastguard operations and its other work.
Search and rescue aviation
Details for Search and rescue aviation
£197m£197m£2.84−6.6%Maritime and Coastguard AgencyLine or transaction not published: The accounts give the helicopter contract’s standing, flying and fuel charges in a note, not as data.
Real terms (2025-26 prices)
£197m
Per resident
£2.84
Real change on a year earlier
−6.6%
Below this
Line or transaction not published: The accounts give the helicopter contract’s standing, flying and fuel charges in a note, not as data.

Cash is as published. Real terms are in 2025-26 prices, using HM Treasury’s GDP deflator. Per resident divides by ONS mid-year population for the area the body serves. Changes compare the same body in consecutive years.

Who pays for what

Who pays: taxpayer-funded and charity-funded rescue services, latest year each
ServicePaid for bySpendingGovernment money in it
HM Coastguard (Maritime and Coastguard Agency)
Details for HM Coastguard (Maritime and Coastguard Agency)
The taxpayer£451mall of it
Paid for by
The taxpayer
Government money in it
all of it
Air ambulance charities (21 charities)
Details for Air ambulance charities (21 charities)
Donations, legacies, lotteries and shops£281.4m£3.2m
Paid for by
Donations, legacies, lotteries and shops
Government money in it
£3.2m
Lifeboats (RNLI and independent) (24 charities)
Details for Lifeboats (RNLI and independent) (24 charities)
Donations, legacies, lotteries and shops£250.7m (not all reported)£4.4m
Paid for by
Donations, legacies, lotteries and shops
Government money in it
£4.4m
Mountain rescue (48 charities)
Details for Mountain rescue (48 charities)
Donations, legacies, lotteries and shops£8.6mnone reported
Paid for by
Donations, legacies, lotteries and shops
Government money in it
none reported
Lowland search and rescue (73 charities)
Details for Lowland search and rescue (73 charities)
Donations, legacies, lotteries and shops£50k (not all reported)none reported
Paid for by
Donations, legacies, lotteries and shops
Government money in it
none reported
Cave rescue (1 charities)
Details for Cave rescue (1 charities)
Donations, legacies, lotteries and shops£20knot reported
Paid for by
Donations, legacies, lotteries and shops
Government money in it
not reported

Charity accounts checked against the registers on 24 September 2026.

Air ambulances

Most of the UK’s air ambulances are run by charities. The NHS ambulance services dispatch them and, in many areas, supply the doctors and paramedics on board; Scotland also has two helicopters and planes of its own, run by the Scottish Ambulance Service. The helicopters, pilots and bases are paid for by donations.

Air ambulance charities, latest accounts filed
CharityIncomeSpendingOf income from legaciesGovernment money reportedReserves, months of spendingYear ending
The Air Ambulance Service
Details for The Air Ambulance Service
£37.7m£35.8m23%none13Dec 2025
Spending
£35.8m
Of income from legacies
23%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
13
Year ending
Dec 2025
London's Air Ambulance
Details for London's Air Ambulance
£26.0m£14.2m3%£380k17Mar 2025
Spending
£14.2m
Of income from legacies
3%
Government money reported
£380k
Reserves, months of spending
17
Year ending
Mar 2025
Air Ambulance Kent Surrey Sussex
Details for Air Ambulance Kent Surrey Sussex
£24.4m£20.8m22%£2.2m22Mar 2025
Spending
£20.8m
Of income from legacies
22%
Government money reported
£2.2m
Reserves, months of spending
22
Year ending
Mar 2025
Midlands Air Ambulance
Details for Midlands Air Ambulance
£19.9m£18.5m39%none9Mar 2025
Spending
£18.5m
Of income from legacies
39%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
9
Year ending
Mar 2025
East Anglian Air Ambulance
Details for East Anglian Air Ambulance
£18.8m£18.3m27%none13Jun 2025
Spending
£18.3m
Of income from legacies
27%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
13
Year ending
Jun 2025
Wales Air Ambulance
Details for Wales Air Ambulance
£17.0m£19.7m20%£140k7Jul 2025
Spending
£19.7m
Of income from legacies
20%
Government money reported
£140k
Reserves, months of spending
7
Year ending
Jul 2025
Essex and Herts Air Ambulance
Details for Essex and Herts Air Ambulance
£16.9m£18.3m12%none33Mar 2025
Spending
£18.3m
Of income from legacies
12%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
33
Year ending
Mar 2025
Devon Air Ambulance
Details for Devon Air Ambulance
£15.8m£14.8m53%none8Dec 2024
Spending
£14.8m
Of income from legacies
53%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
8
Year ending
Dec 2024
North West Air Ambulance
Details for North West Air Ambulance
£15.6m£16.1m20%none15Mar 2025
Spending
£16.1m
Of income from legacies
20%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
15
Year ending
Mar 2025
Hampshire and Isle of Wight Air Ambulance
Details for Hampshire and Isle of Wight Air Ambulance
£13.9m£11.8m22%none19Sept 2025
Spending
£11.8m
Of income from legacies
22%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
19
Year ending
Sept 2025
Lincs and Notts Air Ambulance
Details for Lincs and Notts Air Ambulance
£13.3m£11.9m30%none12Mar 2025
Spending
£11.9m
Of income from legacies
30%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
12
Year ending
Mar 2025
Yorkshire Air Ambulance
Details for Yorkshire Air Ambulance
£12.3m£8.2m61%none81Mar 2025
Spending
£8.2m
Of income from legacies
61%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
81
Year ending
Mar 2025
Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance
Details for Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance
£11.0m£10.1m31%none52Mar 2025
Spending
£10.1m
Of income from legacies
31%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
52
Year ending
Mar 2025
Great North Air Ambulance
Details for Great North Air Ambulance
£11.0m£10.0m35%£380k11Mar 2025
Spending
£10.0m
Of income from legacies
35%
Government money reported
£380k
Reserves, months of spending
11
Year ending
Mar 2025
Thames Valley Air Ambulance
Details for Thames Valley Air Ambulance
£9.8m£13.6m12%none8Mar 2025
Spending
£13.6m
Of income from legacies
12%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
8
Year ending
Mar 2025
Cornwall Air Ambulance
Details for Cornwall Air Ambulance
£9.8m£8.2m42%none6Dec 2025
Spending
£8.2m
Of income from legacies
42%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
6
Year ending
Dec 2025
Scotland's Charity Air Ambulance
Details for Scotland's Charity Air Ambulance
£9.7m£9.7m—not reported—Mar 2026
Spending
£9.7m
Of income from legacies
—
Government money reported
not reported
Reserves, months of spending
—
Year ending
Mar 2026
Great Western Air Ambulance
Details for Great Western Air Ambulance
£6.7m£6.5m15%£90k4Dec 2024
Spending
£6.5m
Of income from legacies
15%
Government money reported
£90k
Reserves, months of spending
4
Year ending
Dec 2024
Magpas Air Ambulance
Details for Magpas Air Ambulance
£5.6m£6.0m3%none1Jun 2025
Spending
£6.0m
Of income from legacies
3%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
1
Year ending
Jun 2025
Air Ambulance Northern Ireland
Details for Air Ambulance Northern Ireland
£5.2m£2.4m—not reported—Mar 2025
Spending
£2.4m
Of income from legacies
—
Government money reported
not reported
Reserves, months of spending
—
Year ending
Mar 2025
Wiltshire Air Ambulance
Details for Wiltshire Air Ambulance
£4.8m£6.4m—none10Dec 2025
Spending
£6.4m
Of income from legacies
—
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
10
Year ending
Dec 2025

Lifeboats, mountain, lowland and cave rescue

Lifeboat and rescue charities, latest accounts filed
CharityIncomeSpendingOf income from legaciesGovernment money reportedReserves, months of spendingYear ending
Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI)
Details for Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI)
£251.3m£250.7m60%£4.4m7Dec 2024
Spending
£250.7m
Of income from legacies
60%
Government money reported
£4.4m
Reserves, months of spending
7
Year ending
Dec 2024
Mountain Rescue England and Wales (the national body)
Details for Mountain Rescue England and Wales (the national body)
£1.3m£1.3m22%none14Dec 2024
Spending
£1.3m
Of income from legacies
22%
Government money reported
none
Reserves, months of spending
14
Year ending
Dec 2024
Scottish Mountain Rescue
Details for Scottish Mountain Rescue
£1.5m£1.3m—not reported—Mar 2025
Spending
£1.3m
Of income from legacies
—
Government money reported
not reported
Reserves, months of spending
—
Year ending
Mar 2025
Association of Lowland Search and Rescue
Details for Association of Lowland Search and Rescue
£90k£50k—not reported—Mar 2025
Spending
£50k
Of income from legacies
—
Government money reported
not reported
Reserves, months of spending
—
Year ending
Mar 2025
British Cave Rescue Council
Details for British Cave Rescue Council
£14k£15k—not reported—Jan 2025
Spending
£15k
Of income from legacies
—
Government money reported
not reported
Reserves, months of spending
—
Year ending
Jan 2025
Rescue team charities counted together
GroupCharitiesIncomeHow counted
Mountain rescue team charities, England and Wales
Details for Mountain rescue team charities, England and Wales
46£6.8mRegistered charities with 'mountain rescue' in their name, latest accounts on the register; some teams are named differently or are too small to register.
Income
£6.8m
How counted
Registered charities with 'mountain rescue' in their name, latest accounts on the register; some teams are named differently or are too small to register.
Lowland search and rescue team charities, England and Wales
Details for Lowland search and rescue team charities, England and Wales
72£3.8mRegistered charities with 'lowland' or 'search and rescue' in their name, latest accounts on the register.
Income
£3.8m
How counted
Registered charities with 'lowland' or 'search and rescue' in their name, latest accounts on the register.
Independent lifeboat charities
Details for Independent lifeboat charities
23£2.5mRegistered charities running lifeboats outside the RNLI, found by name, latest accounts on the register.
Income
£2.5m
How counted
Registered charities running lifeboats outside the RNLI, found by name, latest accounts on the register.

What people say about it

Should lifeboats, air ambulances and mountain rescue get more state funding?

Those who argue for more state funding

  • Government funding would make a major difference, including by helping to upgrade vessels, crew equipment and communication devices, which are all vital to saving lives at sea. Paul Holmes MP (Conservative), House of Commons (29 October 2025) Checked against the official Hansard text via the Hansard API (the web page blocks automated fetches). He asked for the rescue boat grant fund for independent lifeboats to be reinstated.
  • That is why we in the Liberal Democrats are encouraging the Government to increase their support for independent lifeboat organisations through targeted, practical assistance that strengthens the work of these volunteer teams. Steff Aquarone MP (Liberal Democrat), House of Commons (29 October 2025) Checked against the official Hansard text via the Hansard API (the web page blocks automated fetches).
  • The 2025 autumn Budget included the exemption of search and rescue vehicles from vehicle excise duty but, although that was warmly received, it does not address the structural funding gap that these organisations face. Lisa Smart MP (Liberal Democrat), House of Commons (22 April 2026) Checked against the official Hansard text via the Hansard API (the web page blocks automated fetches). Debate on mountain rescue.

Those who stress independence from government funding

  • We will not seek funding from central government if this could jeopardise our independence. RNLI (stated philosophy), Royal National Lifeboat Institution (5 August 2025) Undated policy page; date is the Internet Archive capture used to check the wording (rnli.org blocks automated fetches).
  • For all these institutions, their strength comes from their independence. Although state provision can provide funding and coverage, it comes at the very significant cost of disenfranchising local communities. Jerome Mayhew MP (Conservative), House of Commons (29 October 2025) Checked against the official Hansard text via the Hansard API (the web page blocks automated fetches). He also backed restoring capital grants, saying "there is a difference between independence and funding".

Views are attributed to the people and organisations named, with the date and a link to where they said it. This site takes no side.

What these figures do and don't show

  • Different years. Each charity’s figures are its latest accounts filed with its regulator, so year ends differ. They are not adjusted for inflation and are not a single year’s total.
  • Never added together. Charity income and government spending are shown side by side; they measure different things.
  • Some public money does not show in charity accounts. NHS ambulance services supply some air ambulance doctors and paramedics, and charities can reclaim VAT on some costs; neither is charity income.
  • Government money is as the charity reported it to the regulator (contracts and grants); the register does not say what each contract was for.

Figures from data/services/search-rescue.json, generated 29 September 2026.

Use this data

The figures belong to the bodies that published them and are used under their terms, listed in Sources for this page; most are Crown copyright under the Open Government Licence. Only our own words, analysis, charts and derived calculations are ours, published under CC BY 4.0: reuse them, including commercially, if you credit Tekstak Ltd and link back to this page.

Download

Sources for this page

SourcePublisherFigures as ofUpdatedLicence
Maritime and Coastguard Agency annual report and accounts 2025 to 2026Maritime and Coastguard Agency15 July 2026annualOpen Government Licence v3.0
Register of charities: financial history of each charityCharity Commission for England and Wales—annualOpen Government Licence v3.0

Each source's figures are used under the licence shown. Our own words, analysis, charts and derived calculations are ours, under CC BY 4.0.

Sections